Murray Woman's Club

Murray Woman's Club

Joetta Kelly

Clubhouse Manager
(270) 753-5023

Murray Woman's Club


Article I – Name

This organization shall be known as the Murray Woman’s Club.

Article II – Object

The object shall be the mutual improvement of its members and the promotion of any worthwhile public cause.

Practical, civic, and educational work shall be undertaken as well as purely cultural studies.

The departments shall be the Alpha Department, the Creative Arts Department, the Delta Department, the Garden Department, the Home Department, the Kappa Department, the Music Department, the Sigma Department, the Theta Department, the Zeta Department, and any future departments that may be organized.

Article III – Membership

Membership in the Murray Woman’s Club shall be composed of women active in the different departments of the club. There may also be associate members, life members and honorary members.

Article IV – Officers

The elected officers of the Club, designated as the Executive Committee, shall be a President, First Vice President, Second Vice President, Recording Secretary, and Treasurer. A Corresponding Secretary and a Parliamentarian shall be appointed at the discretion of the President.

Article V – Committees

The President shall appoint the following standing committees: Civic, Legislative, Publicity, Yearbook, Finance, Auditing, Membership, Press Book, Computer Specialist and any other committees deemed necessary with the approval of the Executive Committee.

The House and Grounds committee shall be composed of the members of the Advisory Council. This committee is represented on the Executive Board by the Chairman of the Advisory Council. (See Bylaws, Article 1, Section 7& 8.)

Article VI – General and Departmental Meetings

The monthly meetings of each department shall be held on dates listed in the yearbook. Any permanent change in the date of meeting shall be presented to the Executive Board for approval.

Business Meetings of the General Club shall be held three times annually. Meeting dates shall be left to the discretion of the President and First Vice President.

Article VII – Executive Meetings

The Executive Board shall hold twelve monthly meetings at the clubhouse. Called meetings shall be held at the discretion of the President. (See Bylaws, Article 1, Section 3.)

The Executive committee shall have all such power of the Executive Board between meetings. Any action taken during this interim shall be reported at the next Executive Board meeting.

Article VIII – Open Meetings

The General Club may hold one or more open meetings during the calendar year.

Each department may hold one or more open meetings during the club year.